IMG_9965

The “Equality in Politics” media marathon at the Menorah Center

Yesterday, on March 13, the Menorah Center hosted the “Equality in Politics” media marathon organized by the National Democratic Institute for International Relations (NDI) together with the Dnipropetrovsk Regional State Administration, the Dnipropetrovsk Oblast Council and the Dnipro City Council.

During the event, issues of gender equality in politics at all levels, the role of women in reforms, particularly in the reform of decentralization, the creation of a political environment in Ukraine in which every male and every female could realize their potential and other issues were discussed.

The event was attended by politicians, civil servants, leaders of public opinion, public figures, representatives of media and civil society.

In her video address to female and male forum participants, Vice Prime Minister for European and Euro-Atlantic Integration of Ukraine Ivanna Klimpush-Tsintsadze noted that 50% of women in Ukrainian politics were quite real prospects.

“Today a large number of people have gathered at the event, which indicates the growth of support for gender equality on the part of Ukrainian society. We all face the task of increasing the representation of women in the Parliament. And we should make the most effective use of the time left before the elections in Ukraine to change the statistics we have today, namely: 8% of women in the Government and 12% in the Verkhovna Rada.

Women in Ukraine who want to engage in politics still face an environment full of strong gender stereotypes and a perception of the role of women that does not meet the requirements of time and society. At the same time, according to the public opinion survey conducted by NDI in December 2017, 52% of Ukrainian citizens believe that women and men should participate equally in the political life of the country”, she said.

IMG_9965

Медийный марафон «Равенство в политике» в центре «Менора»

Вчера, 13 марта в центре «Менора» прошел медийный марафон «Равенство в политике», организованный Национальным Демократическим Институтом Международных Отношений (НДИ) совместно с Днепропетровской облгосадминистрацией, Днепропетровским облсоветом и Днепровским горсоветом.

В ходе мероприятия обсуждались вопросы гендерного равенства в политике на всех уровнях, роль женщин в реформах, в частности, в реформе децентрализации, о создании в Украине политической среды, в котором каждый и каждая смогут реализовать свой потенциал и др. вопросы.

В мероприятии приняли участие: политики, госслужащие, лидеры общественного мнения, общественные деятели, представители медиа и гражданского общества.

В своем видеообращении к участницам и участникам форума Вице-премьер-министр по вопросам европейской и евроатлантической интеграции Украины Иванна Климпуш-Цинцадзе отметила, что 50% женщин в украинской политике – это вполне реальные перспективы.

«Сегодня на мероприятие собралось большое количество людей, что свидетельствует о росте поддержки гендерного равенства со стороны украинского общества. Перед всеми нами стоит задание – увеличить представительство женщин в Парламенте. И мы должны максимально эффективно использовать время, оставшееся до выборов в Украине, чтобы изменить статистику, которую имеем на сегодняшний день, а именно: 8% женщин в Правительстве и 12% в Верховной Раде.

Женщины в Украине, которые хотят заниматься политикой, все еще сталкиваются со средой, которая характеризуется мощными гендерными стереотипами и восприятием роли женщин, которая не отвечает требованиям времени и общества. При этом, по данным исследования общественного мнения, проведенного НДИ в декабре 2017 года, 52% граждан Украины считают, что женщины и мужчины должны в равной мере участвовать в политической жизни страны», — сказала она.

По материалам новостного портала МОСТ ДНЕПР: most-dnepr.info/news/society/158350_dnepre_sostoyalsya_mediyniy_marafon.htm