preview-NEWS

Millennium Theater – bold performances of a young team

This is the fifth occasion already that Kyiv-based Millennium Theater shows its performances in the city of Dnipro, and three of them have been hosted by the Menorah Center. This time the young and highly creative team, directed by its Manager Marina Izmaylova and Art Director Nadezhda Ilchenko, has presented three performances for the judgment of local spectators: comedies “Refurbishment, or restoration of feelings” and “Bad boys”, and a tragicomedy “Arachne”. To get more details on the history and life of this art union, we had a meeting with Marina and Nadezhda at the Sinai Hall right before the start of the performance.

— Nadezhda, the preparation for the performance are truly boiling at the stage, and probably you, as the director, have certain worries and concerns, because you are still a quite young team. Could you tell us about the birth of your theater?

Nadezhda: — Everything started from our acquaintance with Marina. We felt that we had a common idea and a wish to set up a theater. At the beginning of this process we were a bit scared and did not understand many things and nuances. However, both the resoluteness and a strive for creative work overcame all fears. The list of our first actors included my friends, Theatrical University students of the same year, and colleagues.

— Which performances did you choose as a première?

Nadezhda: — Our first audience consisted of children. We prepared an interactive performance for them, called “Alice’s Adventures”. The première was a true shock and unbelievable experience for professional actors. The stage and the audience hall turned into a single space, where children could freely run out to the stage and take the most active part in the show. Later on we gradually introduced quite serious and dramatic performances and musical shows into our repertoire. The first one was the “Arachne” performance based on the L’Orchestre piece-concert by Jean Anouilh. Today this play, after two years at the stage, got a new life, and the audience is going to see an absolutely new performance.

— Can we say you have a kind of a special trait? What is a distinctive feature of your theater?

Nadezhda: — Our distinctive feature is, probably, our fearlessness. We are not afraid of doing something in a different way. Sometimes, for instance, it is on the brink of black humor, and spectators are surprised themselves that in some comedies they are laughing at some things that are not funny at all. Since our actors are young, our performances are quite bold. However, it is truly surprising that our audience consists of absolutely different persons, with both youngsters and elderly people.

— Marina, how wide is the geography of your tours?

Marina: — Probably it is not as wide as we would like it to be, but cities we have already been to always receive with special warmth and cordiality. Odessa, Kharkiv, Poltava, Zhytomyr, and, of course, Dnipro – the city, where we had our first guest performance and which has already become a native one for us.

— Let’s hope that we will not have to wait long for your next visit.

Nadezhda: — We are currently doing the rehearsals on some new performances and will for surely rejoice our Dnipro audience with several premières in autumn. Do look at the posters – we are always happy to see both old and new guests.

preview-NEWS

Театр «Тысячелетие» — смелые постановки молодой команды

Вот уже в пятый раз в Днепре, три из которых в центре «Менора», прошли спектакли киевского театра «Тысячелетие». В этот раз молодая творческая команда, во главе с директором Мариной Измайловой и художественным руководителем Надеждой Ильченко, представили на суд зрителей три спектакля: комедии «Ремонт или реставрация чувств» и «Плохие парни», и трагикомедия «Арахна». Чтобы больше познакомиться с историей и жизнью этого творческого объединения мы встретились с Мариной и Надеждой непосредственно перед спектаклем в зале «Синай».

— Надежда, на сцене кипит подготовка к спектаклю и у вас, как у режиссера, наверное, есть некоторые переживания. Ведь вы ещё достаточно молодая команда. Расскажите, как родился ваш театр?

Надежда: — Всё началось с нашего знакомства с Мариной. Мы почувствовали, что у нас есть одна общая идея и желание создать театр. Сначала было страшно и много непонятного. Но решительность и желание творческой работы побороли все страхи. Первыми актерами были мои друзья, однокурсники театрального университета, коллеги.

— Какие постановки были премьерными?

Надежда: — Первыми нашими зрителями стали дети. Для них мы подготовили интерактивный спектакль «Приключение Алисы». Премьера — это был поистине шок и невероятный опыт для профессиональных актеров. Сцена и зал превращались в единой пространство, где дети свободно выбегали на сцену и принимали самое активное участие. Постепенно мы ввели в репертуар и серьезные драматические постановки и музыкальные спектакли. Первым был спектакль «Арахна», по мотивам пьесы-концерт «Оркестр» Жана Ануйя. Сегодня этот спектакль, спустя два года, получил новую жизнь, и зрители увидят совершенно иную постановку.

— Можно ли сказать, что у вас есть какая-то особенность? Чем отличается ваш театр?

Надежда: — Наверно, наше отличие — это бесстрашие. Мы не боимся делать что-то по-другому. Иногда, например, это на грани чёрного юмора, и зритель сам удивляется, что в некоторых комедиях он смеётся над не совсем смешных вещами. Поскольку и актеры молоды, то и постановки смелые. Но удивительно, что наш зритель — это совершенно разнообразная аудитория. Как люди постарше, так и молодёжь.

— Марина, на сколько велика география ваших гастролей?

Марина: — Наверное, пока не так велика, как хотелось бы, но те города, в которых мы были — нас принимают с особой теплотой. Одесса, Харьков, Полтава, Житомир и, конечно, Днепр — город, где мы начинали свою гастрольную деятельность и который стал для нас уже родным.

— Будем надеется, что нам не придётся долго ждать вашего следующего визита.

Надежда: — Сейчас мы готовим новые постановки и уже осенью в Днепре обязательно будем радовать зрителей премьерами. Обязательно следите за афишами, а мы всегда рады видеть новых и старых гостей.