preview-toskano-new

The large-scale photoexhibition “Against Oblivion”

The Art Gallery of the Menorah Center is hosting the Italian photographer Luigi Toscano’s personal exhibition dedicated to the 72th anniversary of the Holocaust and entitled “Against Oblivion”.
The exhibition features several dozen large-scale, six-foot portraits of people who were imprisoned in German concentration camps and suffered from the Holocaust.
During the year, a photographer and film director Luigi Toscano met with victims of National Socialism and former prisoners of concentration camps in Germany, Ukraine, Russia, Israel and the USA, allowing them probably for the last time to tell their personal, tragic life stories. These meetings resulted in the creation of 200 portraits of people and video interviews with them. “I am convinced that what happened simply should not be forgotten, – says the author, – this was the Nazi’s organized extermination of the Jews during World War II, put to life in the Third Reich as the conveyor.

Ukraine became the first foreign country where the German-Italian artist shows his “Against Oblivion”. After the exhibition in Kiev in Babi Yar, Toscano’s work can be seen in Dnepr’s Menorah Center, in the largest Eastern Europe’s Holocaust Museum.

The opening of the exhibition in Dnepr was attended by the representatives of the city’s various national communities and religions, scientists, volunteers, ATO members, as welll as Jews – descendants of those, who survived the Holocaust. Everybody noted that such events contribute to the consolidation of the Ukrainian society.

Organizers of the exhibition are the Jewish Memory and the Holocaust in Ukraine Museum, Tkuma Ukrainian Institute for Holocaust Studies, Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany in Donetsk, Dnepr office, NGO “Action for the Redemption for the Sake of Peace” and its representative from the German organization ASF.

The exhibition runs until 6 February. Free admission.

preview-toskano-new

Масштабная фотовыставка «Против забвения»

В Арт-Галерее центра «Менора» итальянский фотограф Луиджи Тоскано открыл персональную фотовыставку, посвященную 72-й годовщине Холокоста, «Против забвения».
В экспозиции представлены несколько десятков масштабных, двухметровых портретов людей, которые были узниками немецких концлагерей и пострадали от Холокоста.
В течение года фотограф и режиссер Луиджи Тоскано встречался с пострадавшими от национал-социализма и бывшими узниками концлагерей в Германии, Украине, России, Израиле и США, предоставляя возможность чуть ли не в последний раз рассказать свои личные, трагические истории жизни. Следствием этих встреч стало создание 200 портретов этих людей и запись видеоинтервью с ними. «Я убежден, что то, что произошло, просто не должно быть забыто, – утверждает автор, – это организованное нацистами истребление евреев во время Второй мировой войны, поставленное в «третьем рейхе» на конвейер.

Украина стала первой зарубежной страной, где немецко-итальянский художник покажет «Против забвения». После выставке в Киеве в Бабьем Яру, работы Тоскано можно увидеть и в Днепре в центре «Менора», где расположен крупнейший в Восточной Европе музей Холокоста.

На открытие выставки в Днепре пришли представители различных национальных общин города и конфессий, ученые, волонтеры, участники АТО, евреи – потомки тех, кто пережили Холокост. Они отмечали, что такие мероприятия способствуют консолидации украинского общества.

Организаторы выставки – Музей «Память еврейского народа и Холокост в Украине»; Украинский институт изучения Холокоста «Ткума»; Генеральное консульство Федеративной Республики Германия в Донецке, офис Днепр; Общественная организация «Акция искупления ради мира» – представитель немецкой организации ASF.

Выставка продлится до 6 февраля. Вход свободный.