The Raoul Wallenberg commemoration day

On November 29, the Menorah Center hosted an event in the framework of The Raoul Wallenberg 1912-2012 Project, timed to commemorate the hundredth anniversary of Raoul Wallenberg, a prominent Swedish diplomat, who had saved thousands of Jews in Budapest during the Holocaust.  The event is prepared by the Embassies of Sweden, Israel, and Hungary in cooperation with the Jewish Memory and Holocaust in Ukraine Museum and Tkuma All-Ukrainian Center for Holocaust Studies, with the support of the governor of Dnepropetrovsk region Alexander Vilkul and the mayor of Dnepropetrovsk Ivan Kulichenko.

The honorary guests of the event were Michal Bayer, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Hungary to Ukraine, Stefan Gullgren, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Sweden to Ukraine, Itzhak Carmel Kagan, deputy head of the diplomatic mission of the Embassy of the state of Israel to Ukraine, and Evgeny Udod, the Chairman of the Dnepropetrovsk Regional Council and others

  

The guests were greeted by Shmuel Kaminezki, the Chief Rabbi of Dnepropetrovsk and Dnepropetrovsk Region.  In his speech he made the following emphasis: “Ukraine today can boast of the one of the largest Jewish Diasporas, the fifth in the world. It is very important that we remember our past and plan the bright future”.

According to Stefan Gullgren, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Sweden to Ukraine, various events in the framework of this project are being held now in almost 50 countries of the world. He made the following comment: “Such people, as Raoul Wallenberg, will stay forever in our memory and inspire others”.

Michal Bayer, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Hungary to Ukraine, mentioned that owing to the Raoul Wallenberg 1912-2012 project, we received an opportunity today to cast a glance into the past.  “The life path of Raoul Wallenberg is an outstanding example of the way how the moral principles of one person can rise above the totalitarian regime and counteract it”, said the Ambassador.

The central part of the event became the lecture of Professor Kristian Gerner, a Swedish leading historian and specialist in the history of Eastern Europe, member of the committee to explore the Raoul Wallenberg’s fate.

The audience also received a chance to study the Swedish and Hungarian mobile exhibitions and watch a short movie devoted to the life and public activity of the prominent Swedish diplomat.

День памяти Рауля Валленберга

29 ноября  в Центре «Менора» состоялось мероприятие в рамках проекта «Рауль Валленберг 1912 – 2012». Данный проект приурочен к сотой годовщине со Дня рождения Рауля Валленберга, известного шведского дипломата, который спас тысячи евреев в Будапеште в период Холокоста. Организаторами проекта выступили посольства Швеции, Израиля и Венгрии, совместно с Музеем «Память еврейского народа и Холокост в Украине» и Украинским институтом изучения Холокоста «Ткума», при поддержке губернатора Днепропетровской области Александра Вилкула и мера г. Днепропетровска Ивана Куличенко.

Почетными гостями мероприятия стали Чрезвычайный и Полномочный посол Венгрии в Украине Михаль Байер, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол Швеции в Украине Стефан Гуллгрен, заместитель главы дипломатической миссии Посольства Государства Израиль в Украине Ицхак Кармель-Каган, председатель Днепропетровского областного совета Евгений Удод и др.

 

Поприветствовал гостей мероприятия главный раввин Днепропетровска и Днепропетровской области Шмуэль Каминецкий. Он подчеркнул: «В Украине на сегодняшний день одна из самых больших еврейских диаспор, она занимает 5 место в мире. И очень важно, чтобы мы помнили свое прошлое и планировали светлое будущее».

По словам Стефана Гуллгрена, Чрезвычайного и Полномочного Посла Швеции в Украине, сейчас мероприятия по данному проекту проходят почти в 50ти странах мира. Он сказал: «Такие люди, как Рауль Валленберг, будут вечно жить в нашей памяти, и вдохновлять других».

Чрезвычайный и Полномочный посол Венгрии в Украине Михаль Байер отметил, что благодаря такому проекту, как проект «Рауль Валленберг 1912 – 2012», у нас сегодня есть возможность посмотреть в прошлое. «Жизненный путь Рауля Валленберга – это выдающийся пример того, как моральные принципы одного человека могут подняться над тоталитарным режимом и противостоять ему», – сказал г-н посол.

Центральным событием мероприятия стала лекция ведущего шведского историка, специалиста в области истории Восточной Европы, профессора Кристиана Гернера, который являлся членом комитета по расследованию судьбы Рауля Валленберга.

 

 

Также гостям мероприятия были представлены шведская и венгерская мобильные выставки и мини-фильм, посвященные жизни и общественной деятельности известного шведского дипломата.